shop now
clinical laboratory standards institute logo


About CLSI


Meet Our Consensus Committee Members

The strength of CLSI begins with our volunteers—we thank them for donating their time and talents to further our mission of improving health care outcomes.

Consensus Committee on Automation And Informatics


Richard Seaberg
North Shore University Hospital

Vice Chairholder

David Chou, MD
University of Washington Medical Center


Suzanne H. Butch, M.A., MT(ASCP), SBB
The University of Michigan

Andrew Grove, PhD
FDA Center for Devices and Radiological Health

Klaus M. Kjoller, MSc
Radiometer Medical ApS

Elizabeth Kenimer Leibach, EdD, MS, MLS(ASCP)SBB
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Ginger Wooster
Orchard Software

Jyh-Ching Yaur
Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics

Consensus Committee on Clinical Chemistry and Toxicology


David G. Grenache, PhD, MT(ASCP), DABCC
ARUP Laboratories

Vice Chairholder

Loralie Langman
Mayo Clinic


Julia Botelho, PhD
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Johanna Camara, Ph.D.
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Yung Chan, MT(ASCP)
FDA Center for Devices and Radiological Health

Corinne Fantz, PhD
Emory University

T. Scott Isbell, PhD
Nova Biomedical

Joseph Passarelli
Roche Diagnostics GmbH

Jessie Shih, PhD

Consensus Committee on Evaluation Protocols


James F. Pierson-Perry
Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics Inc.

Vice Chairholder

Mitchell G. Scott, PhD
Washington University School of Medicine


Jonathan Guy Middle, PhD
University Hospital Birmingham NHS Trust, UK

Karl De Vore
BioRad Laboratories, Inc.

Robert McEnroe, PhD
Roche Diagnostics

James H. Nichols, PhD, DABCC, FACB
Baystate Medical Center

Gene Pennello, PhD
FDA Center for Devices/Radiological Health

Megan E. Sawchuk, MT(ASCP)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Consensus Committee on Hematology


Dorothy M. Adcock, MD
Esoterix Coagulation

Vice Chairholder

Richard A. Marlar, PhD
Oklahoma City VA Medical Center


Maria J. Arroz, MD
Instituto Nacional de Saúde Dr.
Ricardo Jorge

Josephine M. Bautista, MS, MT(ASCP)
FDA Ctr. for Devices/Rad. Health

Douglas J. Christie, PhD, FAHA
Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics

Emmanuel Favaloro, BSc(Hons), PhD
Institute of Clinical Pathology and Medical Research, Australia

Ian Giles, MD
Sysmex America, Inc.

Hans Hoffmann, PhD
Abbott GmbH

Stephen Kitchen, FIBMS, PhD
Royal Hallamshire Hospital

Consensus Committee on Immunology and Ligand Assay


Ronald J. Whitley, PhD
University of Kentucky
Medical Center

Vice Chairholder

Robert F. Vogt, Jr., PhD
Centers for Disease Control
& Prevention


Bernard C. Cook, PhD, DABCC, FACB
Beckman Coulter, Inc.

W. Harry Hannon, PhD

Stephen M. Hewitt, MD, PhD
National Institutes of Health

Joshua Levin, PhD
FDA Center for Devices and Radiological Health

Elizabeth Sheppard, MBA, HT(ASCP)
Ventana Medical Systems Inc.

Robert W. Veltri, PhD
Johns Hopkins Hospital

Consensus Committee on Microbiology


Richard B. Thomson, Jr., PhD
Evanston Hospital, North Shore
University Health System

Vice Chairholder

John H. Rex, MD, FACP


Nancy L. Anderson
Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention

Thomas R. Fritsche, MD, PhD
Marshfield Clinic

Patrick R. Murray, PhD
BD Diagnostics

Fred C. Tenover, PhD, D(ABMM)

John D. Turnidge, MD
Women’s and Children’s Hospital

Jeffrey L. Watts, PhD, RM(AAM)
Pfizer Animal Health

Nancy Wengenack, PhD
Mayo Clinic

Consensus Committee on Molecular Methods


Frederick S. Nolte, PhD
Medical University Hospital

Vice Chairholder

Barbara Zehnbauer, PhD, FACMG
Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention


Helen Fernandes
UMDNJ – University Hospital

Tina M. Hambuch, PhD
Illumina, Inc.

Charles E. Hill, MD, PhD
Emory University Hospital

Penny Keller, BS, MP(ASCP)
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Thomas J. Lenk, PhD
Celera Diagnostics

Yi-Wei Tang, MD, PhD, D(ABMM)
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Zivana Tezak-Fragale, PhD
FDA Centers for Devices/Radiologic Health

Emily S. Winn-Deen, PhD
Rx Dx Advisors, Inc.

Consensus Committee on Point-Of-Care Testing


Frank M. LaDuca, PhD

Vice Chairholder

Ellis Jacobs, PhD, DABCC, FACB
Coler-Goldwater Specialty Hospital
New York University


Sheldon M. Campbell, MD, PhD, FCAP
Yale University School of Medicine

Ann P. Chappie
FDA Ctr. for Devices/Rad. Health

Paul D’Orazio, PhD
Instrumentation Laboratory

Valerio M. Genta, MD
Sentara Virginia Beach General Hospital

Peggy Mann, MS, MT(ASCP)
The University of Texas Medical Branch

Ron Newby
NOVA Biomedical

Ann E. Snyder, MT(ASCP)
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Marcia L. Zucker, PhD

Consensus Committee on Quality Systems and Laboratory Practices


Carl D. Mottram, BA, RRT, RPFT, FAARC
Mayo Clinic

Vice Chairholder

Devery Howerton, PhD
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention


Deirdre Astin, MS, MT(ASCP)
New York State Department of Health

Michael B. Cohen, MD
ARUP Laboratories

Nancy Dubrowny, MS, MT(ASCP)SC
BD Preanalytical Systems

Dennis Ernst, Mt(ASCP)
Center for Phlebotomy Education

Michelle Jenkins, MS, MT(AMT), ASQ, CQE
Abbott Diagnostics

Michelle McLean, MS, MT(ASCP)
Greiner Bio-One North America, Inc.

Jennifer Schiffgens, MBA, MT(ASCP), CLS
California Pacific Medical Center

Tonya Wilbon, BS, M(ASCP)
FDA Center for Devices and Radiological Health


CLSI Standards by the Numbers

active volunteers creating our standards

standards and guidelines specialty areas

standards development consensus committees

Now available:

M100-S25 Package
Performance Standards for Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing; Twenty-Fifth Informational Supplement

Includes M02-A12 and M07-A10!

learn more


Register | Lost your password?