WARNING: We do not support Internet Explorer. It is not secure and will not work correctly. Please come back using a newer web browser.

2020 Board of Directors Election Nominees

Rick Panning

For Treasurer:
Rick Panning, MBA, MLS(ASCP)cm

Current Treasurer, CLSI

Independent Consultant

Rick Panning, MBA, MLS(ASCP)cm, has been in laboratory leadership positions for over 35 years, including most recently as Senior Administrative Director of Laboratory Services for HealthPartners and Park Nicollet in Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minnesota (leadership for eight hospital laboratories, clinic laboratories for two large medical groups, and a central laboratory). Previously, he served as Vice President of Business Development at Fairview Health Services (supporting laboratory, imaging, pharmacy, and rehab services) and Vice President for Laboratory Services at Allina Hospitals and Clinics, an integrated health system with 10 hospitals and 70 clinic laboratories in Minnesota. For 12 years, he was President of Laboratories for Fairview Health Services in Minneapolis and also served as Chief Executive Officer of the American Red Cross blood services in the North Central region. Rick has been very active in the laboratory profession, especially within the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS), where he has served as a State President, Regional Director, and President of the National Society. Currently, Rick is a member of the ASCLS Government Affairs Committee, a member of the Constituent Society Task Force, and Past Chair of the Coordinating Council for the Clinical Laboratory Workforce (CCCLW). Rick received his BS in clinical laboratory science from Mankato State University and his MBA from the University of St. Thomas.



Lori Langman

For Director (Professions Constituency):
Loralie Langman, PhD, DABCC, FACB, F-ABFT

Professor, Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, Mayo Clinic

Dr. Langman completed her PhD in Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at the University of Alberta, Canada. She completed her Clinical Chemistry training at the University of Toronto, specializing in Forensic Toxicology and Molecular Genetics.

She is a Fellow with the Canadian Academy of Clinical Biochemistry and is the first individual to have achieved Diplomat status with the American Board of Clinical Chemistry in all three disciplines (Clinical Chemistry, Molecular Diagnostics, and Toxicological Chemistry). She is also a Fellow with the American Board of Forensic Toxicology. She is currently one of the Directors of the Clinical and Forensic Toxicology Laboratory, Clinical Mass Spectroscopy Laboratory, and a Consultant for the Personalized Genomics Laboratory, Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN and Professor of Laboratory Medicine in Pathology, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine.

Her involvement with CLSI began when she chaired her first document development committee (DDC) in 2007. Since then she has been on three DDCs, served as a member of the Area Committee for Clinical Chemistry and Toxicology (now known as the Expert Panel on Clinical Chemistry and Toxicology) for four years, and then served as its Vice-Chairholder for four years. She is also a charter member of Consensus Council, which was formed in 2016.




For Director (Industry Constituency):
Andrew Quintenz

Current Director, CLSI

Global Scientific & Professional Affairs Manager, Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc.

Andy Quintenz leads the Scientific & Professional Affairs team for Bio-Rad’s Quality Systems Division. He is a member of the American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC) Corporate Advisory Board, the Industry Liaison to the federally mandated Clinical Laboratory Improvements Advisory Committee (CLIAC), Chair of the US Technical Advisory Group to ISO TC 212 (Clinical Laboratory Testing and In Vitro Diagnostic Test Systems, and a member of the AdvaMed Diagnostic Task Force.

With 25 years of medical device industry experience, his work now focuses on improving the quality of laboratory testing worldwide by promoting an understanding of quality control/quality assurance best practices and laboratory regulations. Andy has been involved with CLSI in various capacities during his career, including serving as an inaugural member of the CLSI Consensus Council. He finds volunteer work meaningful, and during his international travel for Bio-Rad, enjoys promoting the role CLSI documents play in laboratory quality.



For Director (Government Constituency):
Paula Snippes Vagnone, MT(ASCP)

Current Director, CLSI

Supervisor, Microbiology Laboratory, Infectious Disease Section, State Public Health Laboratory, Minnesota Department of Health St. Paul, Minnesota, Laboratory Coordinator, Antibiotic Resistance Laboratory Network - Central Region

Paula Vagnone, MT (ASCP) is the Microbiology Unit Supervisor in the Infectious Disease Laboratory (IDL) of the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH), overseeing the general microbiology, mycobacterial, fungal, and antibiotic/antifungal testing areas of the laboratory. During the COVID-19 pandemic response, she has also taken on the role of coordinating the preanalytical process for COVID-19 specimens. She serves as the Laboratory Coordinator of the Antibiotic Resistance Laboratory Network Central Region, a liaison-type role between the MDH Central Region Lab, the eight state public health laboratories and the epidemiology health care–associated infection coordinators in the region. Paula has been with the MDH IDL since 2000, initially working for 12 years as a bioterrorism response microbiologist and serving as the Minnesota Laboratory System Program Advisor, liaising with all clinical laboratories in Minnesota. She then moved to her current supervisory position.

Paula obtained her BS in Medical Technology at the University of North Dakota and then spent 12 years as a clinical microbiologist in a large St. Paul hospital. She has always been interested in quality laboratory practices and has served as the Chair of the Association of Public Health Laboratories’ (APHL) Laboratory Systems & Standards Committee for seven years. Ms. Vagnone was a member of the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Advisory Committee (CLIAC) from July 2012 through June 2016. She participates in the CLSI Subcommittee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing, is a member of the Outreach and M39-Antibiogram Working Groups, and currently serves on the CLSI Board of Directors (December 2019-present).


Vote Now