WARNING: We do not support Internet Explorer. It is not secure and will not work correctly. Please come back using a newer web browser.

Nominate a Colleague for the CLSI Excellence Awards

These awards celebrate the achievements of volunteers who have helped improve the quality of medical care worldwide.

View Past Excellence Award Recipients

Nomination and Selection Process

Any individual may submit a nomination for a CLSI award recipient. The nominee must be a CLSI member in good standing, or must have been a member when the work was being done. There is no limit to the number of nominations one may submit. However, award recipients may only receive a particular award once every seven years. Nominations for awards are sought and recommended to the Board of Directors for approval (in consultation with the CLSI President and/or Executive Committee of the Board of Directors, as needed). 

If you have questions about any of the awards or the nomination procedures, please contact Stephanie Robinson.

CLSI Excellence Awards Program

CLSI celebrates the achievements of volunteers who have contributed their services to the development of voluntary consensus standards and guidelines and other CLSI documents and programs in the following ways:

Russell J. Eilers Memorial Award (selected by the President)

CLSI’s highest award is the Russell J. Eilers Memorial Award. One award is given annually to a volunteer or group of volunteers selected by the CLSI President (in consultation with the CLSI Board Executive Committee) as having made exceptional contributions to CLSI’s success over extended periods of time. This award was established in 1986 and has been presented every year since then in memory of CLSI’s founding president.

John V. Bergen Excellence Award

The John V. Bergen Excellence Award is presented annually to an outstanding volunteer or group of volunteers in recognition of advances in CLSI organizational directives and objectives, through unique and significant contributions. Nominations for this award are sought and selections are made by the Awards Committee (in consultation with the CLSI President). The award is presented by the CLSI President.

Excellence in Standards Development Award

This award is given to the volunteer(s) who make significant contributions in developing and/or managing one or more consensus standard, guideline, or other work product. Such an individual (or group) is dedicated and committed to CLSI consensus development, and an enthusiastic participant.

Examples of efforts that are considered in this category include:

  • Zealous advocacy and participation in project development
  • Zealous recruitment of highly qualified peer participants
  • Willingness to conduct research to resolve a question or support a tenet
  • Helping to resolve issues preventing consensus; and/or completion of a controversial complex project
  • Puts forth extraordinary time commitment that was critical to project success

Excellence in Member Organization Leadership

This award is presented to the member organization that offers exemplary support to CLSI and its mission to maintain leadership in the domain of document development. Such an organization proves to be an effective participant at all stages of project development, rather than assisting through financial support alone.

Examples of efforts that could qualify an organization for consideration include:

  • Consistently effective and timely efforts to solicit member organization input from a diverse base
  • Extraordinary advocacy within the member organization that ensures ongoing CLSI participation
  • Effective leadership within a sector that encourages other organizations to participate in CLSI