WARNING: We do not support Internet Explorer. It is not secure and will not work correctly. Please come back using a newer web browser.

CLSI Excellence Awards


Wayne, Pennsylvania, USAThe Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute announces the recipients of its 2020 Excellence Awards.  These awards celebrate the achievements of CLSI volunteers who have helped improve the quality of medical care worldwide.

Russell J. Eilers Memorial Award
Jean B. Patel, PhD, D(ABMM)

CLSI’s highest award, the Russell J. Eilers Memorial award is presented to Jean B. Patel, PhD, D(ABMM). Dr. Patel has dedicated her entire career to advancements in medical microbiology, and, largely through her work at the US CDC, is a globally recognized expert in the field. CLSI has been the grateful beneficiary of her expertise for many years.

John V. Bergen Excellence Award
J. Rex Astles, PhD, DABCC, FAACC

The John V. Bergen Excellence Award is presented to an outstanding volunteer or group of volunteers in recognition of advances in CLSI organizational directives and objectives, through unique and significant contributions. This year’s John V. Bergen Excellence award is presented to J. Rex Astles, PhD, DABCC, FAACC. For almost 30 years, Dr. Astles has demonstrated his dedication to CLSI’s mission through his continual contributions to all aspects of our standards development efforts. 

Excellence in Standards Development Award
Linda A. Miller, PhD

The excellence in Standards Development Award is presented to volunteers who make a significant contribution to the development of a consensus standard, guideline, or other work product. Such an individual is dedicated and committed to CLSI consensus development and an enthusiastic participant throughout the consensus process. This year’s winners of the Excellence in Standards Development award are Lucia M. Berte, MA, MT(ASCP)SBB, DLM, CQA(ASQ)CMQ/OE and Linda A. Miller, PhD.

Ms. Berte has selflessly dedicated her time and expertise to volunteer with CLSI for nearly 15 years. Notably, she has made invaluable contributions to the development of CLSI’s Quality Management System library of documents.

Dr. Miller has made significant and consistent contributions to CLSI for two almost decades, most notably in ISO standards development activities, as well as her service as chairholder of the PK/PD Working Group.

Excellence in Consensus Management Award
Standards Awareness Leadership Team

The Excellence in Consensus Management award is presented to the Standards Awareness Leadership Team (SALT) Team. The SALT Team was created in 2013 in response to a CDC cooperative agreement to create and manage laboratory practice guidelines. The team includes:

Pamela Allweiss, MD, MPH
J. Rex Astles, PhD, DABCC, FAACC
Lisa Kalman, PhD
Ira M. Lubin, PhD, FACMG
Peggy A. Mann, MS, MT(ASCP)
Ross J. Molinaro, PhD, MS, MLS(ASCP)CM, DABCC, FACB
James R. Petisce, PhD
Jessica Reinhardt, MLS, M(ASCP)CM
Lou Ann Wyer, MS, MT(ASCP), CQA(ASQ)

Excellence in Member Organization Leadership
Alberta Public Laboratories

This year the Awards Committee is proud to give this honor to the Alberta Precision Laboratories (APL). APL has been an active and longstanding professions constituency member of CLSI for over 20 years (since 1998) and has supported CLSI with its health system membership at the highest level across 8 of their locations, providing access to CLSI documents to over 400 laboratory staff members who have accessed almost 18,000 page hits through the first 9 months of 2019.

Importantly, the Alberta Precision Laboratories has been continually active in scientific and technical operations. For example, in just the past few years, they have provided CLSI with 11 volunteers, who participated on 12 committees, often in key member and contributor positions. These individuals have provided untold numbers of volunteer hours in support of CLSI. Some specific subject areas include: Microbiology, Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing, Evaluation Protocols, and Quality Management Systems.

As an important contributor to CLSI’s growth, reputation, and success we are happy to award the 2020 Organizational Excellence award the Alberta Precision Laboratories.

For a list of past award winners, visit the CLSI website here. For more on the awards or the nomination and selection process, visit the CLSI website here.

CLSI sets the standard for quality in medical laboratory testing. A not-for-profit membership organization, CLSI brings together the global laboratory community for the advancement of a common cause: to foster excellence in laboratory medicine.For over 50 years, our members, volunteers, and customers have made CLSI a respected, transformative leader in the development and implementation of medical laboratory testing standards. Through our unified efforts, we will continue to set and uphold the standards thatdrive quality test results, enhance patient care delivery, and improve health care around the world.   

By using CLSI standards, laboratorians can improve process quality, speed the development of standard operating procedures, and implement safer practices with greater ease and efficiency.


← Go Back